News:

The forum and its posts will remain visible as a resource for a long time to come.

Main Menu
AIB BKCC Kit Car Insurance
Discounts For Club Members

+-Member Login or Register

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

Westfield or Tiger?

Started by Old Biker, 14, February, 2010, 09:34:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Old Biker

Hi Team,

I first posted here early Jan 10 and have yet to get to one of the meets but sounds like I will put that right 21 Feb 10 if I read the posts correctly.  My question to you is 'which car would you buy and why when given the choice between Westfield or Tiger'?  The specific models concerned (I think) are the Tiger XL and the Westy SEiW.  From what I gather I will fit in both length wise although still not sure about size 13 plates!  I guess what I am after is learned opinions the handling characteristics and frame reliability (cracking/corrosion/suspension etc).  Most of me wants to believe that if I am not a professional driver (which I am not), it wont make a difference?  If this is the case then can you give me a few pointers on why the Tiger seems to be cheaper for comparable specs?  Typically I am looking at the following cars at the moment
http://www.pistonheads.com/sales/1429413.htm, http://www.pistonheads.com/SALES/1277003.htm and http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C120218/#

The last one sounds like a bit of a hand full  ;D but I expect they are all a bit quiker than my mondeo!

Hopefully I will learn from your responses so that I will have something to discuss that won't make me look an arse next week!

'The Gaffer'

My advice would be to try before you buy. I am just going through a big almost total rebuild to get my car to fit me.

Stoneleigh show will be a good chance to sit in almost anything to see if you will fit.

If you want something sooner, check out classifieds etc and plan a route to see and sit in them all.

Kit cars are quick to insane, speed generally comes with price ;D