News:

A big thanks to all members past and present for making the club viable for so long.

Main Menu
AIB BKCC Kit Car Insurance
Discounts For Club Members

+-Member Login or Register

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

Hydraulic hand brake

Started by Dixie, 02, October, 2009, 09:44:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dixie

Does anyone know if a hydraulic hand brake will pass a MOT?

ta

Mark

'The Gaffer'

Quote from: Dixie on 02, October, 2009, 09:44:04 AM

ta

Mark

Mark. I'm no expert on MOT requierments, but as I see it, as long as everything is secure and stops the wheels from turning under load, then I cant see a problem.

Do you need more handbrake power? Could be just sticking cables. I have the same problem.

PhilW

You will have to keep a cable operated brake as well.

Dixie

Quote from: G & Toniq on 02, October, 2009, 11:42:27 AM

ta

Mark

Mark. I'm no expert on MOT requierments, but as I see it, as long as everything is secure and stops the wheels from turning under load, then I cant see a problem.

Do you need more handbrake power? Could be just sticking cables. I have the same problem.

The N/S rear drum brake doesnt work on the hand brake, O/S is fine.  Tried all sorts, may just need to get a new handbrake assy for the drum?  Its a Cortina axle, any ideas.

Thanks  Mark

'The Gaffer'

Sounds like something has siezed up to me.

You could try taking the cables off and making sure they pull freely through the outer, could be just the way they are routed as well?

You may have to just make a small adjustment to the drum?

Has the handbrake worked perfectly before?

YellaBelly

Mark, what do you mean by 'all sorts' ?

Have you checked for wear in the drum pivot, movement in the support bracket at the handbrake lever end?

Just a couple of ideas.

JB

Dixie

Quote from: G & Toniq on 02, October, 2009, 03:14:33 PM
Sounds like something has siezed up to me.