News:

A big thanks to all members past and present for making the club viable for so long.

Main Menu
AIB BKCC Kit Car Insurance
Discounts For Club Members

+-Member Login or Register

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

Thinking about a change! opinions please?

Started by mikebishop, 04, February, 2016, 11:31:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mikebishop

hi,

thinking about a change, was just after some opinions and advice?
what do people think.

i've never driven a BEC but know FHO has one.

i want something for sunday drives and trackdays.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/MK-Indy-ZX9R-kitcar-BEC-/231834821863?_trksid=p2141725.m3641.l6368

Gary RH7

I'm no expert on the car but it does look tidy and well made.

'The Gaffer'

Having owned both car engined cars CEC and Bike engine too BEC. The differences are light and day but in short. Easy going or fast road touring with some quick track days = Tuned car engine. Frantic fun, little more work in traffic, great sound, and fun track days = Bike engine. Bike engine needs more work to drive as less torque but it's not a deal-breaker. Getting sound test passes with a BEC are a bit harder but certainly not impossible. Reverse or lack of it can sometimes be problematic but at high revs with clutch-less up and down shifts with auto blip on downshifts, a trackday really comes to life.  Car engines on the other hand are generally more civilised plus are easier to live with and make for the majority of kit cars for that reason.

Horses for courses really :-\

The car you spotted there is over a 3 hour drive. I would certainly look over a kit in person before you decide to buy.

Facial Hair Optional

Where to start with this one!!?? I could write pages (but won't - don't panic!). Gaffer is right, horses for courses. Being lucky enough to own both it's a no brainer for me, BEC every time for the use you specified, having said that I would be over the moon to own Colin's Westie (for example)!