News:

A big thanks to all members past and present for making the club viable for so long.

Main Menu
AIB BKCC Kit Car Insurance
Discounts For Club Members

+-Member Login or Register

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

Hello, and looking for a kit

Started by WSquared, 26, May, 2012, 09:01:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

WSquared

Hi Everybody. I have been dreaming of building a Hot Rod of some sort for many years, but first starting with an easier kit car of some sort to gain experience and get the right tools. Along my road in that quest, I recently bought a former electricity substation next door, partly to serve as a workshop. I have to convert that first. While that is being converted, I want to figure out what sort of kit I want to build etc.
Then to interrupt my plan, my wife's low-mileage (just 24k) 2005 Ford CMax broke it's cam belt and the engine is pretty much toast.  >:(  But the rest of the car is in good mechanical order. Selling it on eBay will only get me a grand or so, so I was wondering if there are any kits for which I could use the CMax as a donor. It may be worth more to me that way. Its either that or it goes on eBay very soon as we had to buy a replacement while we were arguing with Ford about doing some sort of deal on the repair (which they refused).
Many Thanks, William

fullpint

Welcome along William.  What about buying a kit-car that needs a lot of TLC? That way you can strip it totally and may be up-grade the car with a nice engine, or even a bike engine cause they are the best  :D :D :D :D But then I would say that  ;)

peterw

I would certainly look at something that is already on the road albeit in need of work, then you can drive it for the summer before deciding what to do to it in the winter plus you save £500 or so by not having to IVA it and it's a lot less hassle.

Grin-a-lot