AIB BKCC Kit Car Insurance
Discounts For Club Members

+-Member Login or Register

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

How to fit a Trickshifter with a Kliktronic into a Fireblade kit car.

Started by 'The Gaffer', 18, October, 2009, 12:07:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

'The Gaffer'

How to fit a Trickshifter with a Kliktronic into a Fireblade kit car.

Decided it would be great to have clutchless up and down shifts with auto blip on down shifts fitted to my Fireblade 919 powered kit car. Not being a mechanic I was at first a little reluctant to carry out the work, especially as it meant combining two products to achieve one goal.

My interest in the technology soon won me over though, especially as it meant I could change gear in 50 milliseconds!!

I already had a Kliktronic gear changing system with an aftermarket ignition kill module installed on the car, so I just needed to add the Trickshifter to enable the clutchless downshift with auto blip.

First I contacted John at Trickshifter and had a long chat about what I wanted to do. John is a very friendly and helpful guy and gave some very good advice.

I also talked to Keith at Kliktronic, another equally friendly and helpful guy for whom nothing was too much trouble.

From discussing my requirements with both companies it was decided that I needed an additional small Kliktronic box added to my existing Kliktronic unit that has an extra blue wire that triggers the downshift blipper on the Trickshifter.

I also needed the Trickshifter kit less the shift rod assy as I already have switches on the steering wheel that operate the Kliktronic (The shift rod essentially does the same thing as my wheel switches except it relies on pressure switches to activate the Trickshifter)