Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

kit car virgin

Started by nojjer, 30, April, 2016, 06:18:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nojjer

Hello,
i am new to the kit car world, i have recently made a new purchase on a Tiger Cat E1 which im very pleased with.
The car came with loads of build history and even spent time at the tiger factory to be finished.

Only down side, it hasnt had the IVA test so this is where i will be focusing my time. Am i right in saying if its not there they cant test it? fog lights, reverse lights? any pointers would be great!

Fingers crosses once its all on the road i will attend meets and events

Brandy Barrel

Very nice car.
I think it all depends on the age of the kit and the vehicle regs.
No i'm sure its not a case of if its not fitted.
I believe you'll have to fit certian bits, but I dont know.
B

benchmark51

Your best bet is to ask them or get a copy of the current requirements. As far as I know all lights are required for test. However and windscreen is not, so no wipers or washers either. There are lots of odd requirements, some you would never guess, so get the info from them. Or download this PDA file, hope it helps. Dave

http://www.transportoffice.gov.uk/crt/repository/iva-guide-version-30-dec.pdf

nojjer

Thanks for the guidance guys, completely new to this IVA and kit car stuff so its all a learning curve

Facial Hair Optional

Quote from: nojjer on 30, April, 2016, 09:29:48 PM
Thanks for the guidance guys, completely new to this IVA and kit car stuff so its all a learning curve
There are few guys on here who can probably help you but a lot of them are tied up this weekend with the Stoneleigh kit car show. Maybe re-post again in a few days time when they are all back in the land of the living.

I'm sure Iancider can point you in the best direction (he's like a Stephen Fry of kit cars!!). There have been IVA related threads on here before too so they may be worth digging out as well.

fullpint