News:

A big thanks to all members past and present for making the club viable for so long.

Main Menu
AIB BKCC Kit Car Insurance
Discounts For Club Members

+-Member Login or Register

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

Started by Pembly Mike, 25, April, 2010, 08:07:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Pembly Mike

Hi All,
I came across this site yesterday and thought this is just what I need. Also impressed by the numbers involved.
Having retired a while ago, I had decided that a kit car was just the thing to occupy my new found leisure time.
I have been working on my car for two years so it's 90% finished and 90% to go.
The site welcomes all kit car enthusiasts so this is where it starts to get funny.
Lots of Cobra lookalikes and Caterham equivalents featured so where will I fit in to all this power?
It must be that I am building the slowest (speedwise) car in the county. The clue is in my membership name.
My project is a Pembleton SuperSport (?) and for those not in the know, it is based on a Citroen 2CV. I'll pause while you all get the laughter out of the way before a short description of the car.
For anyone who is old enough, you may remember the old pre war Morgan 3 wheeler. This what a Pembleton looks like. There is a four wheeled version but the extra wheel adds an enormous amount of weight. To offset that, some builders are using BMW or Moto Guzzi engines.
That is what attracted me. All the reliable (?) mechanicals from a more recent age fitted into a space frame clothed with rivetted aluminium skins. Have a look on the web site to see just how different all these cars are. It's not for track days or high speed but what what better way to enjoy the lanes of Somerset?
So that's what I am doing, looking forward to seeing something a bit more powerful soon through this club.
Regards,
Mike B.

Daley Down Under

Mike,

Looks fantastic (and a lot of work).  Welcome to club.

See you soon (with steed I hope).

Adrian